Sunday, August 21, 2016

Sibiu - The Stairs Passage











The 13th century Stairs Passage, an architectural masterpiece, connects the Upper Town to the Lower Town 
by means of two ramifications of stairs and arcades surrounding the city walls around the Evangelic Church. 
It descends along the fortifications, under the support arches. 

The first building on the South side of the Passage hosts The Golden Barrel Restaurant, 
the oldest restaurant in Romania which preserves its premises. 
Legend has it that Mihai Viteazul himself had a meal here after a battle.

It is the most picturesque of the several passages linking the two sides of the old city.

Saturday, August 20, 2016

Sibiu - View from the Stairs
















From here, you can enjoy a view over the rooftops of the Lower Townfeaturing the trademark ‘peeping eyes’. 

The Lower Town is definitely one of the most beautiful and picturesque parts of the Sibiu. 
The architecture here is completely unique. 
Houses are painted in brash bright colours and sagging brown roofs have windows that look like dropping eyelids. 
You can really get a sense here of the previous ‘peasant culture’ that existed in Transylvania in previous years – 
something that is very different to the wealth of the Germanic Upper Town.

Monday, August 15, 2016

Sibiu - The Lutheran Cathedral of Saint Mary










Lutheran Evangelical Cathedral is the most famous Gothic-style church in Sibiu, Transylvania, Romania. 
It was built in the XIVth century, in 1371. 
Its massive 73.34 m high steeple is a landmark of the city. 
The four turrets situated on top of the steeple were a sign to let foreigners know that the town had the right to sentence to death.

Thursday, August 4, 2016

Sibiu - The Bridge of Lies





The Bridge of Lies was the first wrought iron bridge in Romania, built in 1859 by Fredericus Hutte.
It connects Lower and the Upper Town, or the Little Square and Huet Square.

Legend has it that the name derived from the merchants' fiery disputes which flared up around it,
 or from the passionate, but transitory, vows of young lovers who often met here.

It is the oldest iron bridge in service in present-day Romania, and it was listed as historic monuments in 2004.

Snowdrops



"He would like to burrow under the earth like a bulb, like a root, to where it is still warm. 
To hibernate with his thoughts and feelings. 
To remain silent with a shriveling mouth. 
He wishes that all the statements, insults, promises he has uttered would become invalid, 
forgotten by everyone and he himself forgotten too.

But no sooner is he secured in the silence, no sooner does he fancy that he has wrapped himself up like a chrysalis, 
than he is no longer right. 
A wet, cold wind blows his absence of expectations around the corner, 
over a flower-stall filled with evergreens and flowers for the dead. 
And suddenly he is holding in his hands the snowdrops that he didn't want to buy - 
he who wanted to go empty-handed! 
The bells of the snowdrops begin to ring wildly and soundlessly, and he goes to where his ruin awaits him. 
Filled with expectation as never before, 
with the expectation and the desire for salvation accumulated through all the years."

Ingeborg Bachmann

Sibiu - The Holy Trinity Cathedral (Orthodox Metropolitan Cathedral)








Built between 1902-1906 on the site of a former Greek church, 
it shares a similar style with Saint Sofia Cathedral in Istanbul, Turkey. 
The interior is dominated by a massive gold chandelier and features neo-Byzantine decorations. 
This is the second largest Orthodox cathedral in Romania.

Sibiu - The Brukenthal Palace






Facing west of the Great Square is the stunning Brukenthal Palace, 
built between 1778-1785 by a Viennese architect in a refined late-baroque style. 
It is now the home of the Brukenthal Museum, the oldest and one of the finest art museums in the country. 
The palace was built by Baron Samuel von Brukenthal to serve as his residence 
and house his collections of Romanian and Western art, 
16th – 18th century religious sculptures and icons, stamps and coins, as well as an impressive library. 
Over the years, the collections have been enriched through acquisitions and donations. 
Even though the museum officially opened in 1817, 
its art galleries welcomed visitors 27 years earlier (1790), three years prior to the opening of the Louvre.